Reflections of Walnut Tree


It is the Fourth of July and the grill is being cleaned and filled with mesquite and charcoal. I can almost smell the burgers now. The best part will be when they sit around after fireworks and eat the homemade ice cream made right here under my boughs. Black walnut ice cream of course. It was always her mama’s favorite. She will come sit in my tire swing and make me groan as she swings the grandkids on her lap. The kids tried to make a tree house one year, and I still have the scars and bent nails to prove it. It was so windy and so poorly constructed that it did not last long.
The baby robins have all flown away and left their nests tangled in my branches again. I have raised many a brood of robins and protected their blue eggs from numerous thunderstorms. I guess you could call me the patriarch of the yard, even the neighborhood. Squirrels, orioles, sparrows, and blue jays have all raised a family or two in my branches.
I enjoy keeping the sun off the kids when they want to play outdoors in the summer heat. Fireworks are starting so I better watch out that I don’t get burned again. I remember it was the summer of 83, and we were going through a drought. I lost almost a third of my limbs, but the neighbor’s hose added to our water soon quenched the fire. Look, that is a beautiful display from the park, with the red, white, and blue flag in the middle. Happy Fourth of July everyone. See you next barbeque.

New Day (3 word Wed post)

 

The clock says four but the rooster is adamant

With his raucous nasal alarm

Town folks arise with musical notes

But ours are more peculiar on the farm

The dark roast is dripping in the pot,

My mate has seemingly risen with ease.

Wonder if I could fabricate a headache

And snuggle down for a few more zzz’s?

Archives

April 2011
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blogs I Follow

My Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

dVerse

Poets Pub

Awakened Words

Poetry and Other Ramblings

Irisinbloom

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Journal

Random. Thoughts. Notes.

The Abuse Expose' with Secret Angel

A blog reaching out to victims of abuse and others in need, providing insight about abuse, hope for the future, and guidance to see THE LIGHT that lead Secret Angel out of the darkness of her own abusive situation and helped her to not only survive but to overcome.

Lorna's Voice

Finding ways to make words sparkle

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Gavin Jones

Author Artist

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Shawn L. Bird

Original poetry, commentary, and fiction. All copyrights reserved.

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Reowr

Poetry that purrs. It's reowr because the cat said so.

SterVens' Tales

~~~In Case You Didn't Know, I Talk 2 Myself~~~

A Writer's Playground

Monthly Activities for Kids by Linda Martin Andersen

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences